Quarterly Meeting

June 29, 2005

Midland Service Center



First meeting since the appointment of new members was called to order by Secretary Marty McGuire.


Members Present:Williams, Laforet, Rockwell, Swain


Members Absent:None


Staff Present:McGuire, Yuergens


Election of Chair


McGuire called for nominations for chair.Swain nominated Williams, Laforet seconded the nomination.Williams was unanimously elected.


Program Update


McGuire presented a brief history of the Dial-A-Ride system in Midland and detailed the current operation for the new members.


There was discussion about the feasibility of a fixed route system and about the fare structure.Staff pointed out that Midlandís significant area of 35 sq. miles and low population density (43,000) made fixed routes difficult.They further pointed out that with 70% of the ridership, being elderly or handicapped, fixed routes did not meet the customer need.


Accessibility Plan


Staff distributed the 2005 Dial-A-Ride Accessibility Plan and reviewed it.The Commission, by their endorsement signatures, accepted the plan with no additional comments.


Regional Transportation


Yuergens presented an update on the Regional Transportation System in which Midland Dial-A-Ride, The County Connection, The Bay Metro Transit and Saginaw Transit Authority, cooperate to facilitate rides across system lines.The system has worked for several patrons and continues to be refined.The cooperative system was entered as an alternative to the formation of an independent Tri County Transportation System.


Meeting Schedule


Meetings were scheduled for Sept. 27, 2005 and Nov. 29, 2005 at 7:00 pm at the Municipal Service Center.


Consumer Issues


Williams spoke of a need for adapting a tie down system for newer type wheel chairs.


Meeting adjourned 8:00 pm.






Marty McGuire

Director of Public Services





___________________________________††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ___________________

Charlotte Williams††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††††††††††††††††Date

Dial-A-Ride Commission Chairperson