Grace A. Dow Memorial Library Wins
the State Librarian's Excellence Award

Receiving the Award

From left to right: Judith Moore, Executive Director of the Library of Michiganís Foundation, Judy Stein, Chair of the Library Board, Melissa Barnard, Library Director, and Nancy Robertson, Acting State Librarian for the Library of Michigan

At the Michigan Library Association Annual Conference on Thursday, October 27, Acting State Librarian Nancy Robertson announced that the Grace A. Dow Memorial Library is the recipient of the 2005 State Librarian's Excellence Award for exemplary public service. The Library of Michigan Foundation gives this award, which includes an engraved crystal trophy and $5,000 in privately raised funds to be used for library services, to one Michigan library annually. This year's award was made possible through the support of Hantz Group, Inc, based in Southfield, Michigan.
The winning library must demonstrate new, innovative and superior services to its customers with a can-do attitude and by always delivering on its promises; commitment to high standards of customer service through staff dealings with customers; and collaborations with community organizations.

Library Board Application for the Excellence Award

City of Midland press release

Acting State Librarian Nancy Robertson announcing the award    Library Director Melissa Barnard recieving the award    Chair of the Library Board Judy Stein and Library Director Melissa Barnard    Library staff and Board members at the award ceremony
Click on a picture to view it larger.


Grace A. Dow Memorial Library